Uploaded image for project: 'Identity Provider'
  1. Identity Provider
  2. IDP-1499 V4 Installer work.
  3. IDP-1339

Stop saving the "dist folder" during an upgrade

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Sub-task
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: None
    • Fix Version/s: 4.0.0, Future
    • Component/s: Installer
    • Labels:
      None

      Description

      When the V3 installer was built we wanted to be paranoid enough to be able to wind back installs so a variety of stuff is saved prior to an update.

      Amongst this was the webapp folder and the dist folder.  

      In 3.4 the webapp folder is now under the dist folder and the result is that in fact a large chunk of what we are saving is the precise distribution.

      Given that we have had no install hiccoughs during the V3 lifetime it seems needless to save the dist folder away moving forward.  This does not affect the ability to rollback, rather it makes it harder to rollback (you need to do a clean install of the version and then copy the files over it).

      I propose that we do this early on in the lifetime of V4.  We may not want to do it it in V4.0 since that will be the first distribution of a reasonably complicated update (for instance we may be changing property names and we may be moving files about.

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            Assignee:
            rdw@iay.org.uk Rod Widdowson
            Reporter:
            rdw@iay.org.uk Rod Widdowson
            Watchers:
            2 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved:

                Time Tracking

                Estimated:
                Original Estimate - Not Specified
                Not Specified
                Remaining:
                Remaining Estimate - 0 minutes
                0m
                Logged:
                Time Spent - 10 minutes
                10m